December 21, 2015
Contact: Max Horn


Auckland Future, the organisation recently formed to secure a majority centre-right ticket for Auckland Council elections next year has selected its first two candidates.
Denise Krum, the hard working and dedicated elected sitting councillor for the Maungakiekie-Tamaki ward, will be contesting the ward under the new Auckland Future banner.
Prior to entering local body politics Denise made significant contributions to the community through a range of organisations and was recognized for her work when she won the New Zealanders of the Year local hero award (Auckland region).
Denise has continued to be a strong local voice as a sitting councillor including successfully advocating for Onehunga as one of the key housing transformation areas for Auckland.
Lisa Whyte, former North Shore councillor, who is currently chairperson of the Upper Harbour local board and also serves on the Hibiscus & Bays local board, will contest the Albany ward. Lisa is committed to and will fight for delivery of the Penlink as a crucial project for Hibiscus Coast.
Both candidates have agreed with the Auckland Future board that Penlink and the Onehunga Transformation project are two priority policies. Well researched and fiscally responsible policies will be launched throughout the campaign.
Prior to being elected Lisa, an accountant by training, has held roles in business and in the community. She is committed to delivering value for money for her residents.
Both candidates bring a wealth of local government, community and business experience to the Auckland Future ticket.
Newly elected Auckland Future board chair, Peter Tong, said the organisation is building strong campaign teams to support the candidates in preparation for the contest in the New Year. 
“We expect to deliver a united group of candidates from a diverse range of backgrounds across Auckland,” he said. “Together they will be committed to a common platform based on fiscal responsibility and a real vision for Auckland.”